Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How to change Banzai Run sounds
08-09-2011, 11:21 AM
How to change Banzai Run sounds
Hello everybody
I'm really new to rom hacking, And I'm still at the stage of understanding how it works.
My goal is to be able to change the sound made by my Banzai run Machine when you hit one of the target for the other racers (the 9 target (3 blue, 3 yelloe, 3 red) and the 3 green lane)
On the original rom, when you hit one of those target, it sounrds like you miss your shot.
I want to change that sound for something more like when you hit a target on the firepower machine.

But I dont know where the script begin in Assembler when you hit a target, and where is the sound on the roms sound etc.

So I'm kind of a newby for this.
I got Some help from Mr Scott Charles.
But he suggest me to post here, he told me that you guys could be able to help me.

Thanks a lot.

Francis
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2011, 01:40 PM
RE: How to change Banzai Run sounds
I've never messed with changing sounds on a PRE-WPC game, but maybe MRGLEE can weigh in with some advice...
08-10-2011, 10:21 AM
Sounds in this system do not work with ROM SAMPLES, but work with YM2151 Yamaha synthesizer.

May be you may change CPU ROM to point to another sound (already store in ROM sound), but very hard edit rom sound to modify and put new commands to YM2151, to create a new sound. You may download datasheet about YM2151, if need I may provide it, but its a very hard task create a new sound, this is an FM synthesizer with many commands.
08-10-2011, 10:27 AM (This post was last modified: 08-10-2011 10:35 AM by Francis.)
thanks for the answer mr Planeta999, What I want to do is simply to change the CPU ROM to point to another sound (not record another one) I'm working on the procedure that TIlt showed in the thread about changing the sound of the shadow.