Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Newbie Tutorial
08-10-2011, 06:07 AM
Newbie Tutorial
Hello everybody

I read the other thread on this forum and I realize that i'm really a newbie (or dumb) in understanding the roms, in that even if I try to read some 6800 books and manuals.

Is there some kind of tutorial for
- Disassembled roms (I dissasemble them , but i'm not sure if I got the right method to do it)
- Find the switch matrix and sound matrix in the roms
- Explained what the different roms do, ( U4 U26 U27 U20 etc.) and how they communicate with each others
- is there some kind of debugger for pin roms ??

in other words a tutorial for dumb
:-)

thanks everybody
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-20-2011, 07:07 AM
RE: Newbie Tutorial
AFIK there is no single location for all of the information you're looking for. There might be other forums that have some of the info you want. For example pinMame might know more about the different ROMs and if they have particular functions. I think on the pre-WPC (I don't remember their name, System-11?) use a couple roms for the game software and a few others for the sound ROMs. I don't think you can necessarily point to a single ROM and say it has a particular function since the just spread the software out over multiple ROMs (although I'm sure one set of ROMs has to do with game software and the other has to do with sound and maybe another for music).